09.07.2004

That Bitch Frances

After going out Saturday night pre-hurricane Frances, I spent approximately the next 36 hours holed up in my apartment with Joe. I'll say this, there isn't anyone else I'd want to get stuck with at this point through such a horrific experience, but yesterday's power outtage was enough to drive us both to tears and maniacal laughter, interspersed by a huge fight between him and his boyfriend. Yikes, what a fucking loony bin my apartment complex was. Joe and I actually spied on some neighbors fighting, something we never deign to do under normal circumstances. And after a very warm (no A/C in Florida fucking sucks!), sleepless night, I woke up at 6am to take the coldest shower I've ever had and go to work. Yippee kie yay.

But, I do have some nice things to say about the situation. I liked the dancing leaf shadows on the wall of our porch illuminated by the emergency workers cutting down trees in the middle of the night. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing people out and about in town when it finally was okay to drive again. I enjoyed making mini-movies with Joe on the digital camera. Maybe I'll even post one someday, if I can figure out how to work Windows Movie Maker, the bastard. Last night we ate at a very nice, expensive restaurant, which was delightful and delectable. I liked the lack of all the normal everyday noise, and being able to hear *people*. Laughing, crying, fighting, getting raucously drunk on their porches. I like candles as a light source. Most of all, I like having my A/C back.

Some things I didn't like...the deli lady at Publix yelling at me for taking approximately 4.5 seconds to decide what I wanted. The fact that at every stoplight we saw while driving that was inoperable, a cop sat nearby in his patrol car, not directing traffic, just sitting. That all the emergency workers I saw cutting down trees and whatnot were black, and all the white people outside were exercising. For God's sake. That's fucking ridiculous.

I'm sure I'll remember more to rave or rant about, but I'm fucking hungry and I'm going to go spend some more fucking money wastefully on a dinner out for me and Joe. Because, damnit, I fucking feel like it.

Listening to: "All the Leaves Are Brown" by the Mamas and the Papas

alannablue at 5:32 p.m.

previous | next