09.23.2004

Reigning Champs at Champps

So, second week of trivia at Champps restaurant, second #1 win. Boo yah, muthafuckas! Our team is awesome. The four of us complement each other well, in terms of knowledge. Anyway, it was nice to spend time with friends again, so quickly after the last time. And hey, if we keep winning, there could be no end to it, which is really the best motivator for me, personally. :)
Other than that, trying to chill and enjoy life. It's easy to enjoy the little things - a pretty sky, a nice drive, good music. It's harder to not sweat the big things - dragging my butt out of bed for work, making new acquaintances. When it rains, it's a fucking hurricane up in this motherfucker. Heh, little Florida joke, for those of you that live here.
I finished reading "The Notebook" tonight. Made me cry. I'm a sap like that, though. Romance movies (i.e. "chick flicks") do it, too. Whatever. I like the idea that two people are meant for each other, nothing wrong with that. That very idea has sustained countless people before me, and shall countless generations after me, I'm sure. Tradition isn't all bad.
If you haven't watched HBO's "Angels in America", I recommend it. It's a heartbreaking yet surprisingly uplifting tale about disease in all kinds of forms and the people that deal with it (or not). What I like about it is that it shows real stuff, like how people really react to horrific situations - denial, fear, avoidance, you name it. And the essential beauty of life just for life itself and that life is a choice. You have to choose to live, it's not a passive thing. I mean, of course, you might live without choosing to, but not the good kind, in my opinion. People choose to fuck themselves up too much with drugs or booze or sex or pride or selfishness or anything that tears you away from seeing that everything is part and parcel of this experience and I, for one, try to be a little grateful every day for it all. I can use the word "fuck" in its various incarnations anytime I want, and for that, I'm thankful. To quote the movie "Office Space", fucking a, man.

alannablue at 3:47 a.m.

previous | next