09.22.2004

DrDave and Friends

Had an interesting date last night. Met the guy online Monday night, and he wanted to go out then, but I had work the next morning, so I said no. So last night we went out. Actually, we didn't really go anywhere specific. I met him at a nearby gas station around 10pm, picked him up, and we drove. I live in New Tampa, and we drove to Zephyrhills, apparently. And then back. And then to some country section of town. Anyway, the point is, we drove. And found some quiet places to sit. Listened to music, predominantly Radiohead's "OK Computer" album, which he had never heard, but really liked. It was like a Gainesville date - the good kind. The kind where we'd drive and make out and look at stars and just be together in some remote place. Kind of dangerous, considering I don't know the guy and he could have hurt me, I suppose, so I'm glad I'm still alive. Got eaten alive by mosquitos.

It's funny how everything good that happens makes me think of Sean still. I mean, don't get me wrong, I didn't want to call Sean this morning when I got home at 4am and tell him about my date, but I wanted the nice, romantic, totally chilled-out time I had with this guy to have been with Sean. Obsessed much? But hey, at least I'm trying to move on. Because one of these days, one of these guys is going to stick around for a while, and then Sean'll be in the past. He's only not past now because of last week and all. I was telling Joe last night that I just want one of these guys to graduate from "dates" to meeting Joe, and being allowed to come to my home. And I want to meet his friends, etc. Not this guy, necessarily, but someone. But last night was nice - ahh, Gainesville. I do miss some parts of the experience.

So tonight Joe and I are going out again with Christina and John like we did last week when we won that trivia contest. I like this re-forming of friendships. Not that we ever lost it, per se, but revisiting good friends. And Christina's so awesome. She always understands exactly what I'm talking about when I tell her things, in a way Joe can't because he's not a girl. So I can't wait to tell her it was a driving date - she'll be excited, whereas Joe was worried and pissed off that I was driving around aimlessly with some stranger. Sigh. Gotta love people that care about you, though. That's the fucking best. :)

alannablue at 1:38 p.m.

previous | next