08.15.2004

But You Didn't Say You're Sorry

So I met this guy online, Eddie. He's 12 years older than I am, but I'm not a little girl anymore, so it's really not that big a deal. We've been talking on the phone for a few days. The only reason I'm mentioning him right now is because when we talk on the phone, it's for hours at a time, and I feel like I'm back in college, staying up all night, having those great conversations with someone where you just connect. I've been enjoying it immensely, and I know he has been, too.

Anyway, so we tentatively talked about getting together last night when he called at 3:05 pm. He was tired from not enough sleep and wakeboarding all morning, so he told me to call him at 7:30 to wake him up from his nap and then we'd discuss getting together. We haven't met yet, so it's kind of a big deal, getting the first "date" out of the way. So I call at 7:30, left a message. Called again at 8:00. I thought, fuck this. I'm not waiting around for some guy to call me, so I went out. Figured if he called, he could always meet me where I was out.

He called at 10:15, said he just woke up. I told him that I had gone out, told him where I was, and that if he wanted, he could come join me. He said he needed a few minutes to wake up and he'd call me back. He didn't call back. For all I know, he showed up where I was, somehow figured out who I was, and left without introducing himself like a big fucking asshole.

But, I am trying not to make assumptions. Or excuses. I mean, of course it's possible that he fell back asleep and that's why he didn't call. And I know he had work to do today, so maybe that's why he hasn't called yet. He figures, hey, she's out with her friends, it's not a big deal.

But this is what I always do. Give people the benefit of the doubt. And you know what? Sometimes people don't deserve it. So I'm pissed off, and rightfully so. I won't stay pissed off. He just has to say he's sorry. Just one little declaration of penitence.

So I'm frustrated, because here's this guy I actually like and have great conversations with, and he's being a little turd. Bugger!

Listening to: "Hey Mama" by Black-Eyed Peas

alannablue at 3:56 p.m.

previous | next