08.04.2004

Part Deux

In other news, I saw "The Village" today. Thought-provoking, although M. Night Shyamalan seems to say the same message in several of his movies, including but not limited to: Signs, The Sixth Sense, and The Village, obviously. To me, it's all about fear and perceived fear. If you notice, the only people who get hurt in the films are hurt by real people, not by the monsters. (i.e. in Signs, the vet drives drunk and kills the wife of Mel Gibson's character, which is the only death we see in the film; in the Village, (if you haven't seen it yet, skip ahead a few lines) Adrien Brody hurts Joaquin Phoenix)Interesting. So we are the ones who hurt each other, not the big bad things we're so scared of.

Secondly, I had a therapy appointment today. I love those. I love my therapist. She does exactly what I need which is confirm what I already know and help give me suggestions when I'm not sure about stuff. The last time I saw her was right before my hospitalization, so we had a lot to talk about. Betrayal by friends who didn't show up, pleasure that I wasn't fabricating my illness, the alien feeling of having something previously inside my body and functioning no longer.

Listening to: Toccatta in Fugue in D Minor

alannablue at 10:53 p.m.

previous | next